ED treatment cost · every price verified 5 September 2026
The real cost of online ED treatment: twelve subscription services and a $45 visit, compared over a year
Every subscription ED service advertises a price per dose. None of them tell you what a year costs, and none of them put the pharmacy price of the same generic tablet next to their own. This page does both, from each company's own pages, for the three ways men actually take these medications. The source for every number is listed so you can check it.
The short answer
Generic sildenafil and tadalafil are among the cheapest prescription drugs sold in the United States. On 5 September 2026, Cost Plus Drugs listed 30 tablets of sildenafil 50 mg for $6.36, 30 tablets of tadalafil 20 mg for $6.69 and 30 tablets of tadalafil 5 mg for $5.97, plus $5.25 shipping. A GoodRx coupon priced the same generics at roughly $8 to $17 a pack at a retail pharmacy. The subscription services sell the same tablets for $1.50 to $44 a dose.
Over a year, that is the difference between a bill that is mostly medicine and a bill that is mostly subscription. The standard Bidwell Health ED prescription is written for six months: 45 tablets plus one refill, which is 15 tablets a month. At that quantity, a year of sildenafil is $780 to $1,140 at Hims, $1,080 at Ro, Rex MD and Peter MD, about $720 at BlueChew, and about $160 with two $45 Bidwell Health visits and Cost Plus Drugs, or $248 to $397 with a coupon at a chain: 49 to 86 percent less than the big brands. A year of tadalafil 20 mg at 15 a month is $7,920 at Ro and $1,230 to $2,265 at Hims against about $162 to $259: 79 to 98 percent less. For daily tadalafil it is Hims $389 to $1,008, Rex MD $730, BlueChew about $874, Ro $2,920, against about $235 to $255: 34 to 92 percent less. Of what you pay the four big brands over a year, between 64 and 98 percent is not medicine. The tables show the work, including the two discount subscriptions that are cheaper than a chain-pharmacy coupon at the small quantities they advertise, and the per-visit services that charge less than we do for the visit itself.
1. What the pills actually cost
Retail-pharmacy coupon prices and mail-order prices for the five generic products every service on this page sells. Cost Plus Drugs prices were read on its product pages on 5 September 2026 and are itemised there as manufacturing cost plus 15 percent plus a $5 pharmacy fee; standard shipping is $5.25 per order. GoodRx figures are free-coupon prices on 5 September (the site defaulted to a Columbus, Ohio ZIP code; yours will differ by a few dollars). SingleCare figures are its published coupon prices with the pharmacy and date shown.
| Generic | Cost Plus Drugs, 30 count | GoodRx coupon | SingleCare coupon | Costco cash | Sam's Club cash | Per dose, cheapest route |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sildenafil 20 mg | $6.72 (Cost Plus shows a $183.60 retail list price beside it) | $10.52 to $15.31 for 30 | Not published at this quantity | $16.99 for 30 | $10.53 for 30 | $0.22 mail order before shipping; $0.35 to $0.51 with a coupon |
| Sildenafil 50 mg | $6.36 | $11.01 to $17.06 for 10 | Not published at this quantity | $13.33 for 10 | $10.01 for 10 | $0.21 mail order; $0.39 including one shipping fee; $1.10 to $1.71 with a coupon |
| Sildenafil 100 mg | $6.69 | $10.03 to $11.53 for 10 | $12.44 for 30 at Food Lion (5 Sep 2026) | $15.00 for 10 | $10.19 for 10 | $0.22 mail order; $0.41 for 30 with SingleCare; $1.00 to $1.15 for 10 with GoodRx |
| Tadalafil 5 mg (daily) | $5.97 | $11.97 to $13.70 for 30 | $11 for 30 at Kroger (SingleCare, Aug 2026); $20.06 for 90 at Kroger (2 Sep 2026) | $18.99 for 30 | $12.06 to $12.18 for 30 | $0.20 mail order; $0.22 for 90 with SingleCare; $0.37 to $0.46 with a coupon |
| Tadalafil 20 mg (on demand) | $6.69 | $8.42 to $9.41 for 10 | $13 for 30 at Kroger or Harris Teeter (SingleCare, May 2026) | $14.66 for 10 | $10.59 to $10.89 for 10 | $0.22 mail order; $0.43 for 30 with SingleCare; $0.84 to $0.94 for 10 with GoodRx |
Sesame's prescription savings card quotes sildenafil 100 mg at $15 for 10 and tadalafil 5 mg at $18.50 for 30. Cost Plus Drugs is a licensed mail-order pharmacy that fills any prescriber's e-prescription and does not offer telehealth; a Bidwell Health prescription can be sent there directly. Cost Plus fills the quantity prescribed, and the $5 pharmacy fee and $5.25 shipping are per fill, so a 90-count prescription pays them a third as often.
2. What the subscription services charge per dose, and how far above the pharmacy that is
Sticker prices from each company's own pages on 5 September 2026 unless noted. "From", "as low as" and "starting at" are the companies' words and usually depend on plan length or quantity, which the pages do not always state. The markup columns compare each price with the GoodRx coupon price per dose (the range above) and with the Cost Plus Drugs price per dose including one $5.25 shipping fee on a 30-count fill ($0.39 sildenafil 50 mg, $0.40 tadalafil 20 mg, $0.37 tadalafil 5 mg).
| Service | Sildenafil per dose | Above coupon | Above Cost Plus | Tadalafil 20 mg per dose | Above coupon | Above Cost Plus | Tadalafil 5 mg daily per dose | Above coupon | Above Cost Plus |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hims | "From $4 per use"; $6 on a six-dose monthly plan of 50 mg (Innerbody, Aug 2026) | 250% to 425% | 15× | $6.50 to $12.25 by dose (Innerbody, Aug 2026) | 590% to 1,360% | 16× to 31× | $2.63 monthly; $1.63 quarterly; about $1.07 on a 12-month prepay | 470% to 560% monthly; 130% to 170% prepaid | 7× monthly; 3× prepaid |
| Ro (Roman) | $6 (50 mg) | 250% to 425% | 15× | $44 | 4,580% to 5,140% | 111× | $8 | 1,640% to 1,900% | 21× |
| Rex MD | $6 (50 mg), "as low as"; 20 mg $2 | 250% to 425% | 15× | $6, "as low as" | 540% to 615% | 15× | $2, "as low as" | 335% to 400% | 5× |
| BlueChew | Chewable sildenafil, "from $3.53 per tablet" (own blog, Aug 2026); not a 50 mg tablet | 105% to 210% | 9× | Chewable tadalafil 6 or 9 mg, "from $4.47" | 375% to 430% | 11× | Daily chewable $2.23 | 385% to 460% | 6× |
| Strut Health | $3.20 (50 mg); $4.80 (100 mg) | 85% to 180% | 8× | $12 (four 5 mg tablets per dose) | 1,180% to 1,330% | 30× | $3.00 ($30 for 10); $2.40 on a 90-day plan | 550% to 650% | 8× |
| Peter MD | $6.25 (100 mg only, $62.50 for 10) | 445% to 525% vs 100 mg coupon | 15× | $7.25 ($72.50 for 10) | 670% to 765% | 18× | Not sold | ||
| Friday Plans | $1.99 any strength, subscription; intro 9 tablets for $7 | 15% to 75% | 5× | $1.99 any strength | 110% to 135% | 5× | $1.99 | 330% to 400% | 5× |
| Rocket Rx | "From $1.50 a tablet", plus $4.95 shipping per order | Below the coupon at the floor; 30% above at the top | 4× | "From $2.50 a pill" | 165% to 200% | 6× | "From $1.25 a pill" | 170% to 210% | 3× |
| Lemonaid | "Starting at $2/pill" (20 mg per third-party reviews); $25 one-time consult | Roughly 4× to 6× the 20 mg coupon price per tablet | 9× | Not published per strength | "$30 for the first shipment"; renewal not published | ||||
| GoodRx Care | $4.50 at four doses a month on a six-month plan ("starts at $18/mo") | 165% to 295% | 12× | $5.25 at four doses a month ("as low as $21/mo") | 460% to 525% | 13× | Not published | ||
| Eden | Compounded vardenafil-tadalafil tablet only, "starting at $44 first month", plus a membership of $39 the first month and $99 a month after. No generic tablets sold. | ||||||||
| Rugiet | Compounded sublingual only, "$7.29 per dose" on subscription (own blog, May 2026); no generic tablets sold. | ||||||||
3. What a year costs, and what you save
Everything included: medication, per-order fees, consult fees, and for Bidwell Health two $45 visits (the standard prescription is written for six months, so a year is two visits). Subscription figures use the monthly plan unless a range shows quarterly or annual prepay. The Bidwell coupon route uses the GoodRx prices in section 1; the Cost Plus route uses 30-count fills at $5.25 shipping each. Percentages are what you save against each service with the Bidwell route; where a service is cheaper the table says so.
At the standard Bidwell Health quantity: 15 tablets a month (180 a year)
The standard Bidwell Health ED prescription is 45 tablets plus one refill, 90 tablets, a six-month supply at 15 tablets a month. You can choose a smaller quantity at intake; the totals below use the standard. At pharmacy prices the quantity barely matters: nine extra sildenafil tablets a month cost about $3.50 through Cost Plus Drugs or $10 to $15 with a coupon. At subscription prices the quantity is the bill: the same nine tablets cost $54 more a month at Hims or Ro, and several services do not sell that many. Hims' plans stop at 16 doses a month, Rex MD's at 12, and BlueChew moves you to a 17-chew plan at $55 a month.
| Service | Sildenafil, 15 a month, 12 months | You save (coupon route $248 to $397; Cost Plus route $160) | Tadalafil 20 mg, 15 a month, 12 months | You save (coupon route $242 to $259; Cost Plus route $162) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ro (Roman) | $1,080 | 63% to 77% with a coupon; 85% through Cost Plus | $7,920 | 97%; 98% through Cost Plus |
| Hims | $780 to $1,140 | 49% to 78%; 80% to 86% | $1,230 to $2,265 | 79% to 89%; 87% to 93% |
| Rex MD | $1,080 (plans top out at 12 a month) | 63% to 77%; 85% | $1,080 | 76% to 78%; 85% |
| Peter MD | $1,080 (100 mg, 30 tablets $180) | 63% to 77%; 85% | $1,140 (30 tablets $190) | 77% to 79%; 86% |
| Strut Health | $576 | 31% to 57%; 72% | $2,160 | 88% to 89%; 93% |
| BlueChew (chewable) | about $720 (17-chew plan) | 45% to 66%; 78% | about $780 (14-chew plan) | 67% to 69%; 79% |
| Lemonaid (20 mg tablets, one per dose) | $385 | Roughly even with a coupon (3% more to 36% less); 59% through Cost Plus | Not published | |
| Friday Plans | $358 | Roughly even with a coupon (11% more to 31% less); 55% through Cost Plus | $358 | 28% to 33%; 55% |
| Rocket Rx | $329 | Roughly even with a coupon (21% more to 25% less); 52% through Cost Plus | $509 | 49% to 53%; 68% |
| Bidwell Health, $45 visit + your pharmacy | $248 to $397 with a coupon (the low end uses 20 mg tablets, the high end 50 mg tablets at the most expensive coupon price); about $160 through Cost Plus Drugs | $242 to $259 with a coupon; about $162 through Cost Plus Drugs |
At the quantities the subscription services advertise: 6 sildenafil or 4 tadalafil a month
These are the tiers the services quote and the tiers most comparison articles use, so they are here for reference. They are also the only place on this page where two subscriptions beat the coupon route: at six tablets a month, Friday Plans and Rocket Rx are cheaper than a $45 visit plus chain-pharmacy sildenafil, because their per-pill premium on 72 tablets adds up to less than two visit fees. Neither beats the Cost Plus route, and neither is within 25 percent of it on tadalafil.
| Service | Sildenafil, 6 a month (72) | You save (coupon $170 to $215; Cost Plus $125) | Tadalafil 20 mg, 4 a month (48) | You save (coupon $130 to $135; Cost Plus $114) | Share of the bill that is not medicine |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ro (Roman) | $432 | 50% to 61%; 71% | $2,112 | 94%; 95% | 71% to 98% |
| Hims | $348 to $492 | 38% to 65%; 64% to 75% | $372 to $648 | 64% to 80%; 69% to 82% | 64% to 94% |
| Rex MD | $408 to $432 | 47% to 61%; 69% to 71% | $288 | 53% to 55%; 60% | 69% to 86% |
| Peter MD (100 mg) | $450 | 52% to 62%; 72% | $348 | 61% to 63%; 67% | 72% to 89% |
| BlueChew (chewable) | about $360 | 40% to 53%; 65% | about $360 | 62% to 64%; 68% | 65% to 89% |
| Strut Health | $230 | 7% to 26%; 46% | $576 | 77%; 80% | 46% to 93% |
| GoodRx Care (four doses a month) | $216 for 48 doses | 0% to 21%; 42% | $252 | 46% to 48%; 55% | 42% to 84% |
| Lemonaid (20 mg tablets) | from $169 | Lemonaid is 1% to 27% cheaper; Cost Plus route saves 26% | Not published | 26% to 53% | |
| Rocket Rx | $167 | Rocket Rx is 2% to 28% cheaper; Cost Plus route saves 25% | $179 | 25% to 28%; 37% | 25% to 78% |
| Friday Plans | $143 | Friday Plans is 19% to 50% cheaper; Cost Plus route saves 13% | $96 | Friday Plans is 36% to 41% cheaper; 19% cheaper than the Cost Plus route | 13% to 58% |
| Bidwell Health, $45 visit + your pharmacy | about $170 to $215 with a coupon; about $125 through Cost Plus | about $130 to $135 with a coupon; about $114 through Cost Plus | Visits are 42% to 79% of the bill; nothing is subscription |
Tadalafil 5 mg daily (365 doses)
| Service | 12 months | You save with a $45 visit + coupon ($235 to $255) | You save with a $45 visit + Cost Plus (about $236 at 30-count fills) | Share of the bill that is not medicine |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ro (Roman) | $2,920 | 91% to 92% | 92% | 94% to 95% |
| Strut Health | $876 to $1,095 | 71% to 79% | 73% to 78% | 81% to 87% |
| Hims | $389 (12 months prepaid) to $1,008 (monthly) | 34% to 77% | 39% to 77% | 58% to 86% |
| BlueChew (daily chewable) | about $874 | 71% to 73% | 73% | 81% to 83% |
| Rex MD | $730 | 65% to 68% | 68% | 77% to 80% |
| Friday Plans | $726 | 65% to 68% | 68% | 77% to 80% |
| Rocket Rx | $516 | 51% to 54% | 54% | 68% to 72% |
| Lemonaid | $25 consult plus $30 first shipment; renewal price not published | |||
| Bidwell Health, $45 visit + your pharmacy | about $235 to $255 with a coupon; about $236 through Cost Plus at 30-count fills, less with 90-count fills | Visits are 35% to 38% of the bill; nothing is subscription |
Daily tadalafil is where the subscription model is most exposed, because the tablet is the cheapest of the five and the services price it as if it were not. Ro's published price is $8 a dose for a tablet that costs 20 cents by mail and about 40 cents with a coupon. Hims gets within a dollar of the pharmacy price only if you pay $384 for the year up front. Nothing on this page, including the two discount subscriptions, comes within 50 percent of the cash-pay route on daily tadalafil.
4. The subscription tax
Take any year-long bill above, subtract what the same tablets cost at a pharmacy with a coupon, and what remains is the price of the subscription itself: the bundled "free" consultation, the shipping, the packaging and the margin. For the four largest brands that remainder is 64 to 84 percent of a sildenafil bill, 84 to 94 percent of an on-demand tadalafil bill, and 77 to 95 percent of a daily tadalafil bill. At Ro, 98 cents of every dollar spent on on-demand tadalafil is not the tadalafil. The discount subscriptions, Friday Plans and Rocket Rx, carry a much smaller tax on on-demand sildenafil (13 to 52 percent) and a large one on daily tadalafil (68 to 80 percent).
A one-time visit carries a tax too: the $45. Over a year it is 35 to 72 percent of the cash-pay bill depending on the drug, and it buys a clinician's review, the prescription with refills, and a refund if treatment is not appropriate. The difference is that it is paid twice a year, not twelve times, and it does not scale with how much medication you use.
5. The other per-visit services, compared honestly
Bidwell Health is not the only service that charges for the visit and sends the prescription to your pharmacy, and it is not the cheapest visit. The medication arithmetic is identical for all of these; the differences are the visit fee, how often you pay it, and what it includes.
| Service | Visit fee | Video required? | What the fee buys | Prescription goes to | States |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bidwell Health | $45, one time; refunded if treatment is not clinically appropriate | No; message-based intake reviewed by a licensed clinician, usually the same day | Review, a six-month prescription at the standard 15 tablets a month, messaging about the visit | Any pharmacy you choose, including Cost Plus Drugs; nothing is sold or shipped by us | 11: Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Iowa, Maryland, Montana, New Mexico, Utah, Virginia, Washington |
| Optum Store | $25, charged only if a prescription is approved | Not stated | Evaluation and prescription; refill terms not published | Pharmacy of your choice, or a home-delivery pharmacy | 50 |
| Amazon One Medical | Message visit from $29, video from $49; varies by state | No for message care, where available | Evaluation; once refills are used, another ED consult is required | Any pharmacy, including Amazon Pharmacy | Message care not available in some states |
| Sesame | From $34; provider-set, varies by ZIP; $10.99 a month membership takes $10 off | Varies by provider | Visit only | Your preferred pharmacy | Not stated |
| Lemonaid | $25 consult covering 12 refills | No | Consult; medication ships monthly from Lemonaid's own pharmacy, cancel any time | Lemonaid's pharmacy; a pharmacy-of-choice option is described by third parties, not on Lemonaid's pages | ED not offered in North Dakota |
| Walgreens Virtual Healthcare | $33 to $79; no refund if the provider decides against a prescription | Chat or video | Assessment | Walgreens, in store or delivered | 30 |
| PlushCare | $129 without insurance, or $19.99 a month membership plus insurance copay | Yes | Visit; $75 late-cancel fee | Any local pharmacy | 50 |
If the visit price is the only thing that matters to you, Optum Store and Amazon One Medical are cheaper than we are, and a year with either of them plus a coupon will land within $40 of the Bidwell totals above. What $45 buys here is a six-month prescription at the standard 15 tablets a month, a same-day message-based review with no video, a named clinician, and a refund if we cannot treat you. That is worth $45 to us and to most of our patients; if it is not to you, use one of them rather than a subscription.
6. What the per-dose price does not tell you
The subscription services are cheap to start and expensive to leave. These terms are from each company's own terms, FAQ and support pages, read on 5 September 2026.
| Service | Auto-renews? | Cancel deadline before the next charge | Refunds | Fees beyond the pill | Can it go to your own pharmacy? | States |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hims | Yes; first renewal "may be charged early" | At least 2 days before renewal; cancelling does not stop an order already processing | None for partly used subscription periods | $5 per order (support calls it shipping; product pages say "free shipping") | Only with an active subscription; compounded products only to compounding pharmacies; one local fill in New York | 50 |
| Ro (Roman) | Yes, auto-refills on by default | 48 hours | No refunds on prescriptions | $35 minimum order; $15 per consult after the 24th in a year | Yes, any Surescripts pharmacy ("usually twice the price", in Ro's words) | 50 plus DC; product limits in Alabama and Mississippi |
| Rex MD | Yes by default | Terms: within 12 hours of the renewal date | "All sales are final and non-refundable" | Free 2-day shipping; terms reserve the right to charge | Not offered | 50 |
| BlueChew | Yes | 24 hours | No returns of prescription treatments | $5 shipping per order | Compounding pharmacies only, on request | All but North Dakota |
| Friday Plans | Subscription required; cancel or snooze any time; no deadline stated | Not stated | Prescriptions "can never be returned"; a separate 60-day money-back guarantee is advertised | Free shipping; 20% off for six months prepaid | Yes, billed by that pharmacy | 43 (the two FAQ pages list slightly different sets) |
| Rocket Rx | Yes once a subscription is chosen; one-time orders possible | 48 hours before the next shipment | Account credit only before prescribing; none once processed | $4.95 USPS shipping per order | Yes, on request | 43 plus DC and Puerto Rico |
| Strut Health | Yes, auto-refill | 48 hours before processing | No returns or refunds | Free shipping | Not offered as a flow; Strut says your own pharmacy "could be 3 to 4 times as expensive" | All but Arkansas |
| Peter MD | Auto-billing for "select products" | 48 hours before renewal, by email | "All purchases are final once medication is received" | Free delivery | Not mentioned | Not Alabama or Idaho |
| Eden | Membership auto-renews at $99 a month after the first | Not published | Not published | Membership $39 first month, $99 after | Compounded only | Not published |
| Rugiet | Yes | 48 hours before the monthly processing date | Current cycle only, if not yet ordered | Consult fee of $20 to $50 on one-time orders (third party) | Compounded only | 50 (third party) |
| Lemonaid | Monthly shipments, cancel or delay any time | Not stated as a window | Not stated | $25 consult; free shipping | See section 5 | 50; no ED in North Dakota |
| GoodRx Care | Yes | 1 day | Not stated | None; shipping included | No; medication ships with the plan | Not North Dakota or South Carolina |
| Bidwell Health | Nothing renews | Nothing to cancel | Visit fee refunded if treatment is not clinically appropriate | None; the pharmacy sets the medication price | Yes, any pharmacy you choose, including Cost Plus Drugs | 11 |
7. How the cash-pay route works
A Bidwell Health ED visit is a $45 online intake reviewed by a licensed clinician, with no scheduled video and no insurance billing. When treatment is clinically appropriate, the prescription is sent electronically to the pharmacy you choose, written for six months of supply at the standard 15 tablets a month (45 tablets plus one refill), so one visit covers six months and a year is two visits. Ask for 90-count fills and the pharmacy fee and shipping on a mail order are paid four times a year instead of twelve. That pharmacy can be a chain where you show a GoodRx or SingleCare coupon at the counter, a warehouse club, or Cost Plus Drugs, which mails the medication at the prices in section 1. If the intake shows treatment is not appropriate, the visit fee is refunded. There is no membership, nothing renews, and nothing ships from us. Details: online ED treatment and pricing.
8. When a subscription service is the better choice
This section is the reason to trust the tables. Hims, Ro and Rex MD serve all fifty states; Bidwell Health serves eleven. If you want medication at your door and never want to stand at a pharmacy counter or wait for the mail, the shipped model is what you are paying for. If you want a compounded chewable, mint or sublingual, a regular pharmacy cannot fill it and BlueChew, Hims, Ro, Rugiet, Eden or Rocket Rx can. Ro, Friday Plans and Rocket Rx will send a prescription to your own pharmacy if you ask, which makes them hybrids. For a few sildenafil tablets a month filled at a chain, Friday Plans at $1.99 a tablet and Rocket Rx from $1.50 are cheaper than a $45 visit plus coupon-priced tablets, because their per-pill premium on a handful of tablets adds up to less than two visit fees; at the 15 tablets a month we prescribe as standard they are roughly even with a chain coupon and about half again the cost of the Cost Plus Drugs route, and on tadalafil they are not close at any quantity. Both are subscriptions. If you are on a prepaid annual Hims daily-tadalafil plan, your per-dose price is within a dollar of the pharmacy price, though you paid for the year up front. And on the visit fee alone, Optum Store and Amazon One Medical are cheaper than we are.
9. How these prices were verified
Every competitor figure was read from the company's own pricing, product, terms, FAQ or support page on 5 September 2026, and the page is named in the cell or note. Where a company's own page would not show a price, the most recent third-party reading is used and labelled with its source and date (Innerbody's Hims review of 23 August 2026 for Hims' plan tiers; BlueChew's own blog for BlueChew's plan prices, since its plan page does not render them; Ro's review of Rugiet for Rugiet's one-time consult fee). Cost Plus Drugs prices were read on its product pages the same day. GoodRx prices are free-coupon figures, SingleCare prices its published coupon prices with pharmacy and date, and warehouse-club prices the posted cash prices. "From", "starting at" and "as low as" are the companies' own qualifiers and are reproduced as such. Twelve-month totals are arithmetic on those figures at the stated usage; they exclude sales tax and first-order promotions except where noted. Percentages compare the ranges shown; where a competitor is cheaper the table says so. Bidwell Health has no affiliate relationship with any company on this page and receives nothing when you buy from any of them. Prices are re-verified quarterly, or sooner when a company changes its published pricing; the verification date at the top is the date to trust.
The markup finding is not new. A 2024 analysis in The Journal of Sexual Medicine compared the direct-to-consumer services with Cost Plus Drugs and found introductory sildenafil at $4.17 to $6.50 per pill at BlueChew, Hims and Roman against $0.32 at Cost Plus, and tadalafil at $6.25 to $9.75 against $0.36, concluding that the markup "likely exceeds the out-of-pocket cost for a primary care office visit needed to obtain a prescription." That office visit is what the subscriptions bundle, and what a $45 telehealth visit replaces.
Vercnocke J, Zhong A, Liaw A, Ginsburg K. The High Price of Anonymity: Comparison of Cost of Direct-to-Consumer Mail Order Pharmacies Compared with Cost Plus Drug Company. J Sex Med. 2024;21(Suppl 1):qdae001.154. doi:10.1093/jsxmed/qdae001.154
Questions people ask
What is the cheapest way to get ED medication online?
A one-time telehealth visit plus generic medication filled at your own pharmacy with a coupon, or mailed by Cost Plus Drugs. On 5 September 2026 Cost Plus listed 30 tablets of sildenafil 50 mg for $6.36, tadalafil 20 mg for $6.69 and tadalafil 5 mg for $5.97, plus $5.25 shipping; coupon prices at a retail pharmacy were roughly $8 to $17 a pack. The subscription services charge $1.50 to $44 a dose for the same generics.
How much more do Hims, Ro, Rex MD and BlueChew charge than a pharmacy?
For generic sildenafil 50 mg, Hims, Ro and Rex MD charge $6 a dose: 250 to 425 percent above a coupon price and about 15 times the Cost Plus Drugs price including shipping. For tadalafil 20 mg, Ro charges $44 a dose, roughly 4,600 to 5,100 percent above the coupon price. For daily tadalafil 5 mg, Ro charges $8 a dose against 40 to 46 cents with a coupon and 20 cents by mail.
What does a year of ED medication cost at Hims versus a $45 visit?
At six sildenafil doses a month, Hims costs $348 to $492 a year including its $5 per-order fee. Two $45 Bidwell Health visits plus generic sildenafil cost about $170 to $215 with a coupon, or about $125 through Cost Plus Drugs: 38 to 75 percent less. For daily tadalafil, Hims costs $389 to $1,008 depending on how much you prepay; the cash-pay route is about $235 to $255.
Is Friday Plans or Rocket Rx cheaper than a $45 visit plus a pharmacy?
Only at small quantities filled at a chain. Friday Plans sells any strength for $1.99 a tablet on a subscription and Rocket Rx from $1.50 plus $4.95 shipping per order. At six sildenafil tablets a month that is $143 and $167 a year, below a $45 visit plus coupon-priced tablets ($170 to $215) and above the Cost Plus Drugs route ($125). At the standard Bidwell Health quantity of 15 tablets a month, they are $358 and $329 against $248 to $397 with a coupon and about $160 through Cost Plus. On tadalafil 20 mg at 15 a month they are 28 to 53 percent more than the coupon route; on daily tadalafil, $726 and $516 against about $235 to $255.
Can I get ED medication online without a subscription?
Yes. Bidwell Health charges $45 for a one-time visit, writes the standard prescription for six months, and sends it to any pharmacy you choose, including Cost Plus Drugs. Optum Store, Amazon One Medical, Sesame and PlushCare also charge per visit. Hims, Ro, Rex MD, BlueChew, Friday Plans, Strut, Eden, Rugiet and GoodRx Care sell medication on recurring plans.
Can my prescription go to Cost Plus Drugs?
Yes. Cost Plus Drugs is a licensed mail-order pharmacy that fills e-prescriptions from any prescriber; it does not offer telehealth itself. Enter Cost Plus Drugs as your pharmacy at intake and the prescription is sent there electronically. Its prices are itemised on each product page as the manufacturer's cost plus 15 percent plus a $5 pharmacy fee, with $5.25 standard shipping per order.
Can I cancel Hims, Ro, Rex MD or BlueChew any time?
Each allows cancellation with a deadline before the next charge: Hims at least two days before renewal, Ro 48 hours, Rocket Rx 48 hours, Strut 48 hours, Rugiet 48 hours, BlueChew 24 hours, GoodRx Care one day; Rex MD's terms say within 12 hours of the renewal date. Hims does not refund partly used periods, Rex MD's terms say all sales are final, and Strut and BlueChew do not accept returns of prescription treatments.
Does the $45 visit include the medication?
No. It covers clinician review, the prescription decision with refills, and messaging about the visit. Medication is paid at your pharmacy or to Cost Plus Drugs. If treatment is not clinically appropriate, the visit fee is refunded.
When is a coupon cheaper than telehealth for ED?
Whenever you already have a prescription. The coupon and Cost Plus prices above are what the pharmacy charges with or without a telehealth service in front of it. The visit is only the cost of getting the prescription, which is why a one-time $45 visit and a shipped subscription end up so far apart over a year.
Bidwell Health is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by Hims & Hers Health, Ro, Rex MD, BlueChew, Friday Plans, Rocket Rx, Strut Health, Peter MD, Eden, Rugiet, Lemonaid Health, GoodRx, Optum, Amazon, Sesame, Walgreens, PlushCare or Cost Plus Drugs. Company names are used to identify the services compared. This page is general information about pricing and is not medical advice; whether ED medication is appropriate for you is decided at the visit. Adults 18 and older physically located in a state we serve. Not emergency care; no controlled substances.
Clinically reviewed by Ashley Cranage, APRN, FNP-C. Published September 5, 2026. Prices verified September 5, 2026. States we serve · Compare the services by what they offer · Flat fee vs subscription